Twelve Heads of State commit themselves to play the role of leadership, advocacy and facilitation for Arts, Culture and Heritage

ADDIS ABABA, Ethiopia, February 11th, 2020,-/African Media Agency (AMA) /-On the sidelines of the 33rd Assembly of the African Union held in Addis Ababa, twelve Heads of State solemnly accepted the invitation of His Excellency Ibrahim Boubacar Keïta, President of the Republic of Mali, African Union leader for Arts, Culture and Heritage to act as co-champions.

Upon his designation as African Union Leader for Arts, Culture and Heritage, His Excellency the President of Mali, Ibrahim Boubacar Keïta, found it appropriate to establish a presidential level structure to carry out his mission. Thus, he invited twelve Heads of State to join him in a Council of the Peers.

The twelve Heads of State, from the five regions of the continent, are:

President of Cape Verde, Jorge Carlos Fonseca.
President of Ghana, Nana Akufo-Addo.
President of Nigeria, Muhammadu Buhari.
President of Equatorial Guinea, Teodoro Obiang Nguema Mbasogo.
President of Congo, Denis Sassou Nguesso.
President of the Democratic Republic of Congo, Felix Tshisekedi.
Kingdom of Morocco, His Majesty Mohamed VI.
President of Egypt, Abdel Fattah al-Sissi.
President of Kenya, Uhuru Kenyatta.
President of the Federal Republic of Ethiopia, Mrs Sahle-Work Zewde .
President of South Africa, Cyril Ramaphosa.
President of Namibia, Hage Geingob.

The mandate of the Council is to formulate strategic orientations and to ensure that these orientations are taken into account in the activities of the African Union (AU). The members of this Council are also expected to play the role of leadership, advocacy and facilitation at the sub-regional level.

At the inaugural meeting of the Council, the twelve Heads of State committed themselves to give a pride of place to culture, arts and heritage.

In that framework, they adopted a draft resolution that will tabled with a view to declaring 2021 as the year of culture:

In addition, the twelve co-leaders commit themselves to:

  •  advocate for the ratification of the Charter for the African Cultural Renaissance;
  • gather political and financial commitment of the member States for the African World Heritage Fund;
  •  promote culture as a tool for peace building;
  •  develop creative industries generating economic development and outreach;
  •  preserve and develop African languages as a vehicle of communication, knowledge and culture; and
  •  speed up the return of cultural assets.

On all these subjects, the countries will work together with the relevant organs of the African Union and according to a principle of subsidiarity.

Distributed by African Media Agency (AMA) on behalf of The African Union. 

For further information please contact:

Esther Azaa Tankou | Head of Information Division | Directorate of Information and Communication | African Union Commission | Tel: +251911361185 | E-mail: | |Addis Ababa | Ethiopia

Mr. Gamal Eldin Ahmed A. Karrar | Senior Communication Officer | Directorate of Information and Communications | African Union Commission | Tel: Tel: (251) 11 551 77 00 | Ext: 2573| E-mail: | |Addis Ababa | Ethiopia

Directorate of Information and Communication | African Union Commission I E-mail: I Website: I Addis Ababa | Ethiopia Follow Us: Facebook | Twitter | YouTube

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInShare on StumbleUpon
Back to news listing